page 335    AGOA
  (c) such products, which will not enter the commerce of the United States, imported as samples for taking orders, for exhibition, display or sampling at a trade fair, for research, for use by embassies of foreign governments or for testing of equipment, provided that written approval of the Secretary of Agriculture or his designated representative the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is presented at the time of entry;

(d) blended syrups containing sugars derived from sugar cane or sugar beets, capable of being further processed or mixed with similar or other ingredients, and not prepared for marketing to the ultimate consumer in the identical form and package in which imported, provided that, subject to approval of the Foreign Trade Zones Board, such syrups are manufactured in and entered from a U.S. foreign trade zone by a foreign trade zone user whose facilities were in operation on June 1, 1990, to the extent that the annual quantity entered into the customs territory from such zone does not contain a quantity of sugar of nondomestic origin greater than that authorized by the Foreign Trade Zones Board for processing in the zones during calendar year 1985; and

(e) cotton entered under the provisions of U.S. note 6 to subchapter III of chapter 99 and subheadings 9903.52.00 through 9903.52.26, inclusive.

In applying to USDA for approval under subdivision (c) of this note, the importer must identify the product, quantity and intended use of the goods for which exemption is sought. USDA may seek additional information and specify such conditions of entry as it deems necessary to ensure that the product will not enter the commerce of the United States.

The Secretary of Agriculture shall carry out the provisions of this note in consultation with the United States Trade Representative.

16 Products of Countries Designated as Beneficiary Countries under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA).

(a) The following sub-Saharan African countries, having been designated as beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries for purposes of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), have met the requirements of the AGOA and, therefore, are to be afforded the tariff treatment provided in this note, shall be treated as beneficiary sub-Saharan African countries for purposes of this note:

Republic of Angola Republic of Malawi Republic of Benin Republic of Botswana Republic of Mauritius Burkina Faso Republic of Mozambique Republic of Cape Verde Republic of Namibia Central African Republic Republic of Niger Republic of Chad Federal Republic of Nigeria Union of the Comoros Republic of Rwanda Republic of Congo Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe Democratic Republic of the Congo Republic of Senegal Republic of Côte d’Ivoire Republic of Djibouti Republic of Sierra Leone Eswatini Ethiopia Republic of South Africa Gabonese Republic The Gambia Republic of Ghana United Republic of Tanzania Republic of Guinea Republic of Togo Republic of Guinea-Bissau (Guinea-Bissau) Republic of Kenya Republic of Uganda Kingdom of Lesotho Republic of Zambia Republic of Liberia Republic of Madagascar (Madagascar) Republic of Mali (Mali)

(b) Articles provided for in a provision for which a rate of duty appears in the “Special” subcolumn followed by the symbol “D” in chapters 1 through 97 of the tariff schedule are those designated by the President to be eligible articles pursuant to section 111(a) of the AGOA and section 506A of the Trade Act of 1974 (“the 1974 Act”). Whenever an eligible article which is a good of a designated beneficiary sub-Saharan African country enumerated in subdivision (a) of this note is imported directly into the customs territory of the United States, such article shall be entitled to receive the duty-free treatment provided for herein, without regard to the limitations on preferential treatment of eligible articles in section 503(c)(2)(A) of the 1974 Act, provided that such good--